I didn’t so well in my classes last semester.

I mean, yeah, I passed my psychology courses with flying colors; that’s easy to me.  It’s natural.  It’s interesting.  I like figuring out the how and why of people being the way they are.

But the STEM-type courses didn’t end so well, and I think it’s because I did the same thing I do every semester: overwork.

I have a really bad habit of spreading myself too thin, “like butter scraped over too much bread” to quote a favorite Hobbit.

It’s exhausting.  It’s inhibiting.  It keeps me from doing the things I need to do at any sort of decency.  Things get half-assed and skimmed over and neglected and forgotten.

And I end up worn out trying to juggle so many balls so high in the air.

It’s difficult to decide if I’d rather do many things adequately, or do just a few things exceptionally.  Which is more impressive?

I should be asking: which is healthier?


While I was in Palacios, over New Years, Lindsey and I created vision boards.  Hers is perfectly her; they’re sky-high and attainable goals because she won’t let them be anything but.

I was unusually realistic with my goals this year.  I set a goal for my savings account balance and for blog followers.  I pasted a picture of El Salvador to remind myself of the missions trip coming up in August.  I added Bible verses and a picture of the drafted cover of my book; I want to get it finalized and formatted for print by the end of the year.  I put the Etsy logo — motivation to get that up and running again.

img_0252

Mom saw it when she came into my room the other day, and noticed the white space, saying that she appreciated it.  That it wasn’t clustery and cluttered.

And I think a lightbulb went off?

I made a belated resolution: the allow white space in all areas of my life.  To say no when I need to rest and to leave hours unattached in my calendar.  To stare at a wall like I used to after long shifts at the restaurant, when I really needed to not think for a while.  Because scheduling every second of every day and saying yes to every excursion is really unhealthy.

fullsizerender


Thinking about how quickly last semester flew by is blowing my mind — I’ll be out of this little corner in just a handful of months.

Leave a Reply

