Words and Things

Lindsey and I have a lot of grand aspirations for the year.  The reading goal, for one.  To write out a script that we’ve had ruminating for two years.  To be better bloggers.

I think we decided that we’ll blog every Friday — or as close to it as our schedules allow.


I have a life-verse.  Romans 8:37-39.

37. We are more than conquerors through him who loved us.  38. or I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39. neither height nor depth, not anything else in all creation will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Since 2013, I’ve had an anthem verse for each year, too, words to act sometimes as a prayer and sometimes as a reminder.  They’ve found me annually, sometimes creeping up on me to tap my shoulder and other times tackling me to the ground to make me listen.

I have a bad habit of getting caught up in the world and not listening to Jesus when he tries to give me good and holy things.

2014 was Psalm 34:18.  The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.

I didn’t know why I was pulled to that verse at the time, but I know now that it had been a promise.  That brokenness can be healed, and that’s the main work that our God does.  That the hurt won’t last forever, just until it’s served it’s purpose.

I think pain can act two ways in a person.  It either hardens you or softens you.  I feel like God probably prefers one, but he can and will work with both.

2015 was 1 Corinthians 16:13-14.

13. Be on your guard.  Stand firm in the faith; be men of courage; be strong.  14. Do everything in love.

Instructions.  Instructions that I often failed to live up to, but tried nonetheless.  I picked that verse into pieces, calling on one phrase or another when in need.

I was in need.  A lot.

Last year, 2016, is possibly one of my favorites.  Lamentations (can we talk about some irony there?) 3:21-25.

21. …and therefore I have hope: 22. because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail.  23. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.  24. I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.”  25. The Lord is good to those whose hope is in him, to the one who seeks him.

Because of the Lord’s great love, we are not consumed.

His compassions never fail.

I wish that I could read this verse out loud to you, friends, so that it would be more than black type on a white background, so that you could hear and feel it with breath and life.

But the Word of the God is alive and active (Hebrews 4:12), right?  He doesn’t need me and my breath for that.


What might each of you choose as your word of the year?

Love.  Pilgrimage.  Intentional.  

Peace.


My life-word is Hope.  It is and will always be.

I’ve never had a year-word before, but one of the girls in our email chain sent a question a couple of days ago.

What might each of you choose as your word of the year?

I avoided it for a few days, thinking hard.  Then I made myself stop thinking, because there are so many good words in the world.

I found it when I stopped looking for it: Peace.

And then I read the verse.

Colossians 3:12-17.

12. Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience.  `13. Bear with each other and force whatever grievances you may have against one another.  Forgive as the Lord forgave you.

14. And over all these virtues, put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.  15. Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to leave.  And be thankful.

16. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom, and as you sing psalms, humans, and spiritual songs with gratitude in your hearts to God.  17. And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

Can I get a hallelujah, amen?

 

 

One Comment

  1. I think this may be one of my favorite posts. I need to bookmark it and come back to it to remind me that I am too quick to judge what’s going on in your life, simply by misinterpretation of the expression on your face. I’m proud of you. I love you, college girl. ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

