2016 Book List

  1. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close (Jonathan Safran Foer)
  2. The White Review No. 14
  3. Attachments (Rainbow Rowell)
  4. We (Yevgeny Zamyatin)
  5. Miracles (C. S. Lewis)
  6. Love & Misadventure (Lang Leav)
  7. Are You My Mother? (Alison Bechdel)
  8. The Calvary Road (Roy Hession)
  9. Brave New World (Alduous Huxley)
  10. 1984 (George Orwell)

I have a yearly goal of 52 books.  I didn’t hit it last year, but I didn’t keep track, either.  This year I am.

IMG_5526Current Read: Jesus>Religion by Jefferson Bethke.  I’m only on chapter 3, but this book is so amazing – Bethke is the guy who did the “Why I Hate Religion, But Love Jesus” slam poem on YouTube a few years back, and that video.  Man.  It’s crazy good.

And so’s this book.  It’s full of challenges and truths and encouragements that I have to read two or three times to completely absorb.

I dunno what else to say about it – I’ll probably do a follow up later and talk about it more, as well as the next book I’m grabbing from my TBR (To Be Read), which currently numbers at 36.  It tripled.  Seriously.  I glance over and I’m like, “I gotta do something about this.”  It’s starting to teeter, and I’m not joking.  Well.  Not by much.


 

Update: I’m on chapter 7 of “Jesus>Religion, and I’m still loving it.  The next book in my stack is “Why We Broke Up” by Daniel Handler.

I’m currently sitting in my Creative Writing class, feet propped up on the chair in front of me, with the sound of pens scribbling as we write notes for workshop ~

I just had an excerpt of my fiction critiqued.  The last few pieces I’ve workshopped were poetry; it was easy and familiar, but I did something that scared me and I turned in a piece of my semester project . . .

and it went really well.

 

2 thoughts on “2016 Book List

Leave a Reply

