Teri.

At a piano lesson yesterday ~

“One time I was doing laundry in my parents room, and I . . . I thought I saw a tail.  It was pointy.  I think it was a monster, and now I’m scared.”

Her voice got louder, the way it does when she starts to get unfocused.

“Were you scared?”

She hesitated before nodding.

“Wanna know something?”

Another nod.

“Only good monsters have pointy tails.  And they hang out to keep the bad monsters away.”

“. . . And the bad monsters only have one or two heads, and the good monsters have, like, fix or six!”

“Mhm.  That way they can see all the corners of all the rooms.”

~ I kind of love that child.

One thought on “Teri.

Leave a Reply

