Inside Out

IMG_2763I went to see a movie a couple of weeks ago with some of my favorite people.  Some of my Slayers decided to go see Inside Out.

I’ve never been a part of the College-Kids-In-A-Children’s-Movie group before, and it’s a really fun group to be a part of.  I think we enjoyed the movie more than any of the children in there.  We definitely laughed more – and louder – than anyone else.

This is the first animated movie that’s made me cry since Toy Story 3. Okay, that’s a slight fib – animated movies make me cry harder than most other movies, but I definitely cried harder than I have in a long time over this dumb movie.

I think this is mostly just me wanting to say that Inside Out is a good movie because it tells little kids that it’s okay to be sad. It’s okay to feel things other than “happy,” and it doesn’t mean there’s anything wrong with you or people are going to get mad at you, it’s just an emotion that’s a part of everyone and it’s okay to feel it sometimes, as long as you don’t let it completely take over. Being healthy requires dealing and feeling everything, the good and the bad and the ugly, and I think it’s important that they put that message so strongly into a children’s movie.

Because I’m Sunshine, and because most people expect me to be Sunshine, I forget that sometimes it’s okay to have some days where I don’t shine quite so bright. And I think this kind of falls into my “honesty” thing.  Maybe it’s good to have a filter, to not say whatever pops into your mind at any given moment, but I’m definitely tired of people not being honest about their thoughts, intentions, motives, and such . . .

One thought on “Inside Out

  1. I thought of you when I watched that movie. For the exact reasons you talked about. On my end, Mom said, “This part reminds me of you” and I couldn’t figure out why, until the clown showed up. I started huddling in my seat. Gah.

Leave a Reply

