The List: Check Four.

Once upon a time . . . there was a wooden cat named Steve.  Steve was Seth’s best friend, replacing his long time companions, Master Star Commander and Jelly Doughnut.  

Hold up.  I guess a reference point would be helpful for this story.  Let’s back up just a few hours.

Around 11 in the morning, Ryan and Leah picked me up at my house.  We cruised over to Brew N’ Bake to nab Seth, and then the four of us were on our way to Galveston for some Island time.

Actually, I don’t know why they were going, probably for “quality time with friends” stuff, but I was mostly there for the food (I’m kidding, guys, I love y’all . . . )

In all seriousness, Leah and I were starving so we stopped at Star Drug Store first for IMG_2075cheeseburgers before heading to The Strand and getting distracted by a couple of stores along the way.

Stage cue: Enter, Steve.

Steve was discovered in an antique store that we spent an hour in.

Yes.  Four young adults spent an hour in an antique store,
but how could we not?  The place is magic – there’s treasure in the building, hidden, shoved, stashed haphazardly in ever corner, nook, and cranny.

In one of those crannies, was Steve, a $15 piece of wooden folk art.

By the time we’d gotten done perusing the store, even the cashier knew the cat’s name.

IMG_2797

IMG_2801 IMG_2800 IMG_2798

IMG_2100IMG_2117

The rest of the afternoon blurs a little – mostly I remember sticky ice cream dripping down
my fingers under the hot sun glaring from it’s spot in the sky, and it felt like we were melting too under that same glare.  We listened to music and danced the entire ride home, until the next thing on our agenda . . .

Article four on the summer list?  An outdoor movie.  And Lake Jackson is in the middle of hosting outdoor movie nights every other Friday.

Last Friday they showed Big Hero 6, and on the way over to Maclean Park I picked up two of my favorite little girls, a couple of blankets, and a big bag of snacks.

IMG_2824

Outdoor movies are better than indoor movies.  I don’t know why, but pretty much anything is better outside.  Reading, eating, writing, watching movies.  It’s all better under the big open sky and surrounded by people, whether they’re perfect strangers or perfect friends.

I’m in love with my life and the people in it.

One thought on “The List: Check Four.

Leave a Reply

