DIY: Flower Crowns

Two days after I came home from D.C., I left again.  A family, very dear to my heart, had been asking me to visit.

So, I did.

And it was great.  We ate a lot of food and threw a party for Aunt Jenny’s birthday…

And we made flower crowns.

Usually, I use wire to wrap the flowers to a circlet made of either wire or the stems of the flowers, but this time… I perfected a technique I’d played with before.

You will need… scissors, leather cording, flowers, a hot glue gun, and ribbon.  The ribbon is optional.

IMG_3339

Take three strands of leather (roughly the same length), knot them at one end, and braid enough to wrap around your skull.

Ruth used all white leather on her first one, Eva mixed black and white, and Abigail used all brown.  I used three different browns…

Don’t braid it too tightly, or you won’t be able to attach the flowers.

IMG_3340

 

At this point, you’ll want to fire up your hot glue gun.

While you’re waiting for your glue gun, lay out the flowers you want in the order that you want them.

Unless you’re like me and you just randomly grab them, hoping for the best.

Whether or not you design your crown first, you will need to prep flowers.IMG_3342  The kind that works best for these are the kind that you can just pull off of the stem, but there will still be a little stub on the back that you’ll need to trim off.  The back of the flowers need to be relatively flat/smooth.

Put hot glue on the back of your flower, then stick the flower onto the leather where you want it.  It helps if you kind of stick the center of the flower in between the strands of leather.  I don’t know how much sense that makes in writing, but you’ll know what I mean if you try this.

IMG_3343See?

Just keep adding flowers onto your leather.  Big ones.  Small ones.  Whatever floats your boat.  Personally, I like the big ones best.  Or.  Medium sized ones.

Small ones are cute, but I like “ostentatious” and “flamboyant” when it comes to flower crowns.

I mean, let’s be real here.  Fairy Princesses probably don’t wear “cute” flower crowns.

Moving along…IMG_3346

When I got all of my flowers glued on, I trimmed off the excess leather and put hot glue over the knot to make sure it stayed tied.  That’s only one way to do it, though.  Like.  If your leather is long enough to tie, and you want to tie that, then great.

However.  I took ribbon and tied that to the leather cording.

It looks real pretty with the ribbon tied in a bow.

IMG_3350

 

—– ❤ —–

 

IMG_3320

 

Dallas

Leave a Reply

